William E. Byers Memorial Scholarship

William "Bill" Byers began working at Des Moines Golf & Country Club (DMGCC) mowing greens and raking sand traps at the age of 15. He graduated from Valley High School in West Des Moines in 1960, served in the Air National Guard, earned a degree in Agronomy from University of Massachusetts at Amherst, then returned to DMGCC becoming Superintendent until he retired in 2007. One of his proudest accomplishments while at DMGCC was hosting the very successful U.S. Senior Open held in 1999.

Bill was a charter member of the Iowa Turfgrass Insitute in 1980, serving as President in 1982 and 1995. The ITI awarded Bill the Meritorious Service Award in 1994. He was also involved in the Iowa Golf Course Superintendents Association, where he was selected Superintendent of the Year in 1969 and 1982 and awarded the Distinguished Service Award in 1998. Bill was inducted into the Iowa Golf Hall of Fame in 2006.

He also was a co-owner/operator of Williams' Turf Farms Inc. and Williams Sod Farms.

Past Recipients

 2008 Taylor Simmons
 Hawkeye Community College
 2009 Robert Begey
 Iowa State University
 2010 Nicholas Dunlap
 Iowa State University
 2011 Jacob Travis
 Kirkwood Community College
 2012 Jake Newman
 Upper Iowa University
 2013 Joe Parker
 Iowa State University
 2014 Mitchell Meyers
 Kirkwood Community College
 2015 Ashley Ove
 Iowa Lakes Community College
 2016 Randy Williamson
 Indian Hills Community College
 2017 Mitch Niner
 Indian Hills Community College

Scholarship Application

Deadline to apply: October 31, 2017

2017 Recipient:

Mitch Niner, Indian Hills Community College

© 2018 Iowa Turfgrass Institute
1605 N Ankeny Blvd, Suite 210, Ankeny, IA 50023
(515) 635 - 0306
All rights reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software