History of the Iowa Turfgrass Institute

The Iowa Turfgrass Institute (ITI) was founded April 1, 1980. The original Board of Directors consisted of: John Bartholomew, Doyle Brittain, Del Brockshus, Richard Bruns, Bill Byers, Dr. Nick Christians, A.E. Cott, Dr. Charles Hall, Dave Holstad, Steve Tyler, and Doug Wilson. Steve Tyler acted as the first President.

The ITI was established for the purpose of fostering research, education and dissemination of information on turfgrass so as to benefit all users. A further purpose is to serve as liaison for turfgrass industry groups and Iowa State University (ISU), to support educational conferences, seminars, and field days presented by ISU and aid in financial support of work toward better turf for the benefit of the people of Iowa.

In 1995, ITI created a joint office in Ames in association with the Iowa Golf Course Superintendents Association (Iowa GCSA), Iowa Professional Lawn Care Association (IPLCA), and the Iowa Sports Turf Managers Association (ISTMA). In 2011, ITI, in addition to the other allied associations of the ITI, moved its office to Ankeny, where it remains today.

Past Presidents

 1980 Steve Tyler
 Pheasant Ridge Golf Course
 1981 John Bartholomew
 1982 William "Bill" Byers, CGCS
 Des Moines Golf & Country Club
 1983 Dave Holstad
 1984 Richard "Dick" Bruns
 Washington Park Golf Course
 1985 Richard Bahr
 1986 Daryle Johnson
 All American Turf Beauty
 1987 John Kelly
 Standard Golf Company
 1988 Kris Early
 Tri-State Turf & Irrigation
 1989 Richard Carlson
 1990 Garry Struyk
 Struyk Turf
 1991 Jack Oleson
 1992 John Newton, CGCS
 Veenker Memorial Golf Course
 1993 Mike McCaffrey
 1994 John Kelly
 Standard Golf Company
 1995 William "Bill" Byers, CGCS
 Des Moines Golf & Country Club
 1996 Daryle Johnson
 All American Turf Beauty
 1997 Richard "Dick" Bruns
 City of Cedar Falls
 1998 Kevin Shawgo
 City of Ames
 1999 Mike Loan
 Blue Grass Enterprises
 2000 Doug Snook, CGCS
 Waverly Golf Course
 2001 Mike Andresen, CSFM
 Iowa State University
 2002 Greg Harkin, CGCS
 Willow Creek Golf Course
 2003 Doug Struyk
 Struyk Turf
 2004 Kevin Vos, CSFM
 Bos Landen Golf Club
 2005 Joe Wagner
 City of Iowa City
 2006 Tom Verrips, CGCS
 Otter Creek Golf Course
 2007 John Kelly
 Standard Golf Company
 2008 Darrin Johnson
 The Andersons
 2009 Steve Cutforth
 2010 Kevin Shawgo
 City of Ames
 2011 Greg Harkin, CGCS
 Willow Creek Golf Course
 2012 John Hollen
 Red Oak Country Club
 2013 Steven Krantz
 D & K Products
 2014 Brad Vermeer
 City of Sioux Center
 2015 Kevin James
 City of Urbandale
 2016 Darrin Johnson
 The Andersons
 2017 Steven Krantz
 D & K Products

© 2018 Iowa Turfgrass Institute
1605 N Ankeny Blvd, Suite 210, Ankeny, IA 50023
(515) 635 - 0306
All rights reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software